The Surgical Innovation Award recognizes an ASMBS member who has provided technological breakthroughs in areas related to bariatric and metabolic research, in particular for new surgical methods or devices.  Innovations can also be in the form of patents, inventions, new products, ideas or services. The innovations developed by the awardee should have the potential to change our standard practice and should go beyond marginal improvements in existing procedures or products. Through their study of disease and the impact on the patient, the Surgical Innovator has moved the needle and excited the spirit of innovation in others in the field.

  • Award nominees must be members of the ASMBS.
  • Nominations will only be accepted from members of the ASMBS
  • Self-nominations are welcome
  • Members of the ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors are not eligible (see list of Board members)
  • Previous award recipients are not eligible

The ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors will evaluate the award nominees and identify an award recipient. The name of the ASMBS member making the nomination will remain anonymous to the ASMBS Foundation BOD. To help identify the most qualified recipient the ASMBS Foundation Board will seek input from the ASMBS Executive Council and each Committee Chair. The comments collected will remain anonymous.

No information about the outcome of the Board of Director’s decisions can be provided prior to the official announcement of the award recipients. The Board of Director’s decision is final.  Application-specific feedback will not be provided.

Previous Surgical Innovation Award Recipients

Natan Zundel, MD

Awarded in November 2018
Award sponsored by Medtronic

Learn More

Francesco Rubino, MD
King’s College London
London, England

Awarded in November 2017
Award sponsored by Medtronic

Learn More

Michel Gagner, MD, FACS,

Clinique Michel Gagner
Montreal, QC Canada

Awarded on November 2016
Award sponsored by Medtronic

Manoel P. Galvao Neto, MD
Gastro Obeso Center
Sao Paulo

Awarded on November 2015
Award sponsored by Medtronic