The Dr. Ronald H. Clements Patient Safety & Quality Award recognizes major achievements of a team or individual who has made significant contributions to improving patient safety and quality of care to bariatric patients. Quality care focuses on improved, patient-centered, reliable, accessible, and safe treatment.

  • Individuals nominated must be members of ASMBS
  • Teams nominated must belong to an organization that as been accredited by MBSAQIP, and at least one member of the team must be a member of ASMBS
  • Nominations will only be accepted from ASMBS members
  • Self-nominations are welcome
  • Members of the ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors are not eligible (see list of Board members)
  • Previous award recipients are not eligible
  • Applicants not selected for an award in any given year are invited to re-submit in subsequent years.

The accomplishments of award nominees should be clearly linked to patient safety principles including:

  • Dedication to improving the quality of bariatric care and patient safety
  • Leadership in advancing methods for measuring and reporting bariatric care quality
  • Expanding the public’s capacity to evaluate the quality and safety of bariatric care
  • Promoting health care choices based upon information about safety and quality

Nominees must be able to demonstrate how their body of work contributed to one or more of the following:

  • Sustainable changes to practices or programs
  • Creating/fostering a culture of safety and patient engagement, including measurements of decreasing acts of commission or omission that results in hazardous health care conditions and/or unintended harm to the patient
  • Improving safety in care delivery systems of their particular institution(s)
  • Fostering new leaders in patient safety in bariatric surgery
  • Enhancing the body of research that underlies innovative patient safety efforts
  • Using new technologies
  • Implementation of protocols and procedures
  • Promoting and dissemination of best practices
  • Transformation of organization culture by significantly improving or resolving previous system failures or error. Examples include medication-related errors, communication errors, health care-associated infections, medical record errors, identification errors, and delays in responding to critical diagnostics
  • Outreach (legislation, media, etc)
  • Promoting bariatric/ obese patient advocacy

The ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors will evaluate the award nominees and identify an award recipient. The name of the ASMBS member making the nomination will remain anonymous to the ASMBS Foundation BOD. To help identify the most qualified recipient, the ASMBS Foundation Board will seek input from the ASMBS Executive Council and the Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Committee. The comments collected will remain anonymous.

No information about the outcome of the Board of Directors’ decisions can be provided prior to the official announcement of the award recipients. The decision of the Board of Directors is final.  Application-specific feedback will not be provided.

Previous Patient Safety & Quality Award Recipients

Wayne English, MD
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN

Awarded November 2018
Award Sponsored by W.L. Gore and Associates

Robin Blackstone, MD, FACS, FASMBS
Banner Health
Phoenix, AZ

Awarded November 2017
Award Sponsored by W.L. Gore and Associates

David A. Provost, MD, FACS
Provost Bariatrics
Temple, TX

Awarded November 2016
Award sponsored by W.L. Gore & Associates

Daniel B. Jones, MD, MS, FACS
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, MA

Awarded November 2015

Walter Pories, MD
Brody School of Medicine
Greenville, NC

Awarded November 2014