The ASMBS Foundation’s Outstanding Achievement Award honors an ASMBS member who supports the goals and vision of the ASMBS Foundation, has displayed a lasting impression and selfless commitment to the ASMBS organization and has made significant contributions to the field of metabolic and bariatric surgery.

  • Award nominees must be members of ASMBS
  • Nominations will only be accepted from ASMBS members
  • Self-nominations are welcome
  • Members of the ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors are not eligible (see list of Board members)
  • Previous award recipients are not eligible

The ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors will evaluate the award nominees and identify an award recipient. The name of the ASMBS member making the nomination will remain anonymous to the ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors. To help identify the most qualified recipient, the ASMBS Foundation Board will seek input from the ASMBS Executive Council and each Committee Chair. The comments collected will remain anonymous.

No information about the outcome of the Board of Directors’ decisions can be provided prior to the official announcement of the award recipients. The decisions of the Board of Directors is final.  Application-specific feedback will not be provided.

Outstanding Achievement Award Recipients

Click on each award recipient to learn more.

Raul J. Rosenthal, MD
November 2018
John M. Morton, MD, FACS
November 2017

Robert Brolin, MD
November 2014

Alan Wittgrove, MD
November 2013

Kelvin Higa, MD
June 2012

Walter J. Pories, MD
June 2007

Nicola Scopinaro, MD
June 2006

Edward E. Mason, MD
June 2005

John Linner, MD
June 2004

Douglas S. Hess, MD
June 2003

Georgeann Mallory, RD
June 2001

Alex McGregor, MD
June 2000

Henry Buchwald, MD, PhD
June 1999

S. Ross Fox, MD
June 1998