The Master Educator Award recognizes an ASMBS member who has demonstrated excellence as a master educator and mentor in the field of Bariatric Surgery. In addition to recognized skills as an excellent educator, recipients of this award will have made significant contributions (one or several) in: educational leadership, curriculum development, education research, and participation in national educational meetings, educational publications in peer review journals, creation of innovative teaching programs and the development of CME programs, educational software, or videotapes.

  • Award nominees must be members of the ASMBS.
  • Nominations will only be accepted from members of the ASMBS
  • Self-nominations are welcome
  • Members of the ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors are not eligible (see list of Board members)
  • Previous award recipients are not eligible

The ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors and the presenting sponsor will evaluate the award submissions and identify an award recipient. The Board of Director’s decision is final. The Board of Directors will not consider incomplete nominations. No information about the outcome of Board of Director’s decisions can be provided prior to the official announcement of the award recipients. Application-specific feedback will not be provided.

The 2018 Master Educator Award will be given at the ASMBS Foundation’s Gala and LEAD Awards on Wednesday, November 14th from 6pm – 9pm.

Learn More

Previous Award Recipients

Natan Zundel, MD, FACS, FASMBS
Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
Miami Beach, FL

Awarded November 2017

Learn More

Ninh T. Nguyen, MD, FACS, FASMBS
Irvine Medical Center, University of California
Orange, California

Awarded November 2016
Award sponsored by Fresno Heart & Surgical Hospital, Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery Program 

Learn More

Bruce Schirmer, MD, FACS
University of Virginia Health System
Charlottesville, VA

Awarded November 2015
Award sponsored by Fresno Heart & Surgical Hospital

John Dixon, MD, PhD
Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Awarded November 2014