The Excellence in Clinical Care Award recognizes an ASMBS member for their exemplary qualities of clinical excellence and expertise in metabolic and bariatric surgery, as demonstrated by an exceptional record of patient-centered care, innovation, professionalism, leadership and continuous service to community.

  • Award nominees must be members of the ASMBS.
  • Nominations will only be accepted from members of the ASMBS
  • Self-nominations are welcome
  • Members of the ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors are not eligible (see list of Board members)
  • Previous award recipients are not eligible

The ASMBS Foundation Board of Directors will evaluate the award nominees and identify an award recipient. The name of the ASMBS member making the nomination will remain anonymous to the ASMBS Foundation BOD. To help identify the most qualified recipient the ASMBS Foundation Board will seek input from the ASMBS Executive Council and each Committee Chair. The comments collected will remain anonymous.

No information about the outcome of the Board of Director’s decisions can be provided prior to the official announcement of the award recipients. The Board of Director’s decision is final.  Application-specific feedback will not be provided.

Previous Excellence in Clinical Care Award Recipients

Camilo Boza, MD

Awarded November 2018
Award sponsored by Ethicon

David Provost, MD, FACS, FASMBS
Provost Bariatrics
Temple, TX

Awarded November 2017
Award sponsored by Ethicon

Rudolf A. Weiner, MD, PhD
Klinik für Adipositas Chirurgie und
Main, Germany

Awarded November 2016
Award sponsored by Ethicon

Edward L. Felix, MD, FACS
Senior Consultant and Surgeon
Pismo Beach, CA

Awarded November 2015
Award sponsored by Ethicon