In order to encourage, support and acknowledge surgeons from tier two and three countries who have overcome financial hurdles to attend the ASMBS Annual Meeting, the ASMBS International Development Committee has developed the “International Awards Program.” The Committee determines the top two podium, poster or video contributions from eligible surgeons and acknowledges them with a monetary gift and waived registration to the ASMBS Annual Meeting.

The ASMBS International Award is partially supported by the ASMBS Foundation

2018-2019 Award Recipient: 

Catherine Tsai, MD

2017 Award Recipients: 

Stephan Axer, MD
Torsby, Värmland SWE

2016 Award Recipients: 

Carlos Zerrweck , MD
Mexico City, Mexico

Laparasoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy: Results at 10 years

2014 Award Recipients: 

Miguel-HerreraMiguel Herrera, MD, PhD
Mexico City, Mexico

Preliminary Analysis of Gene Candidate Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms(snp) Associated to Postoperative Weight Loss in Mexican Mestizo Obese Patients Undergoing Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass (RYGB)


Elie-RamlyElie Ramly, MD

Concomitant Removal of Gastric Band and Gastric Bypass: Analysis of Outcomes and Complications from the ACS-NSQIP Database

2013 Award Recipients: 

Marcos A Berry, MD

Revisional Surgery from Failed Adjustable Gastric Band to Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy in One Surgical Time

Eduardo Del-Villar, MD

Prevalence of Anemia During the First Year After Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass (RYGB)