Thank You for Attending the ASMBS Foundation’s 2nd Annual LEAD Awards!
Your attendance at the LEAD Awards has helped support the fundraising efforts of the Foundation

The 204 LEAD Awards were held on November 3, 2014 at the Westin Boston Waterfront in Boston, MA. This event was held in conjunction with Obesity Week 2014.

The ASMBS and ASMBS Foundation have combined their award presentations to honor leaders in the field of bariatric surgery. The ASMBS Foundation’s Outstanding Achievement, Master Educator, Excellence in Nutrition, Patient Safety, and Distinguished Industry Partner Awards will be presented at this event, as well as the ASMBS Circle of Excellence, Research Grant, International, and Best Video Awards.

Event Photos:

2014 Outstanding Achievement Award

Robert Brolin, MD, FACS

Robert Brolin, MD, one of the leading bariatric surgeons in the United States, is Co-Director of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery at University Medical Center of Princeton at Plainsboro.

Dr. Brolin has more than 33 years of experience in bariatric surgery and is considered one of the nation’s leaders in the field. With clinical expertise that includes Roux-en-Y gastric bypass, sleeve gastrectomy and revisional surgery, Dr. Brolin has more than 3,200 bariatric procedures to his credit, including more than 900 laparoscopic Roux-en-Y gastric bypasses and 350 revisional surgeries.

A 1974 graduate of the University of Michigan School of Medicine in Ann Arbor, Dr. Brolin completed his internship and residency in surgery at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

He has served 20 years as a full-time faculty member at Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (formerly UMDNJ), where he was Professor of Surgery. He also was appointed adjunct professor of surgery at the University of Pittsburgh Medical School. He has published and presented extensively on the subject of bariatric surgery. Dr. Brolin is a member of the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS) and the American College of Surgeons. He served as President of the ASMBS from 2000-2001, was a member of the Executive Council for more than 10 years and a committee member for more than 25 years.

Learn more about this award

Patient Safety and Quality Award

Walter Pories, MD
Brody School of Medicine
Greenville, NC

Master Educator Award

John Dixon, MD, PhD
Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia


Excellence in Nutrition Award

Kimberley Steele, MD, PhD
Johns Hopkins Center for Bariatric Surgery
Baltimore, MD

Distinguished Industry Partner

Henry Alder
Director, Health Economics & Market Access

ASMBS Best Video Award

Joshua Pfeiffer, MD
Oregon Bariatric Center
Springfield, OR

ASMBS IH Circle of Excellence

James Mitchell, MD
Neuropsychiatric Research Institute
Fargo, ND

ASMBS International Award

Miguel Herrera, MD, PhD 

Mexico City, Mexico

ASMBS International Award

Elie Ramly, MD

ASMBS Research Grant Award

Luke Funk, MD

University of Wisconsin – School of Medicine and Public Health
Madison, WI

ASMBS Research Grant Award

Sabrena Noria, MD, PhD

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, OH


Thank you to the following organizations for sponsoring the 2nd Annual LEAD Awards:


Thank you to Bariatric Advantage for supporting the Excellence in Nutrition Award


Gore & Associates
Microline Surgical