Thank you for attending the 2011 ASMBS Foundation Annual Event!

Thursday, June 16, 2011 • 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm | Osceola Ballroom
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center – Orlando, FL

The following awards were presented at the 2011 Masters Course in Fun:

  • ASMBS Foundation Outstanding Achievement
  • ASMBS Integrated Health Circle of Excellence
  • President’s Service Award

The Masters Course in Fun’s live musical entertainment was provided by Tremors, featuring the Earthquake Horns®. Casino entertainment provided by Casino Events of Florida.

2011 Outstanding Achievement Award

member-SchauerPhilip Schauer, MD

Each year, the Foundation honors an American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS) member who has displayed a selfless commitment to the ASMBS and has made significant contributions to the field of metabolic and bariatric surgery.

Dr. Philip Schauer is Professor of Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine, Chief of Minimally Invasive General Surgery and Director of the Cleveland Clinic Bariatric and Metabolic Institute (BMI). He is past president of the American Society for Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS). He is co-chair of Obesity Week, the world’s largest annual meeting devoted to the science and treatment of Obesity starting November 2013.

After receiving his medical degree from the Baylor College of Medicine, Dr. Schauer completed his residency in surgery at The University of Texas, where he served as chief resident of general surgery. He then completed his fellowship in laparoscopic surgery at Duke University Medical Center. Prior to joining The Cleveland Clinic in 2004, Dr. Schauer served as director of endoscopic surgery, director of bariatric surgery and Director of the Mark Ravitch/Leon Hirsch Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

Dr. Schauer’s clinical interests include surgery for severe obesity, minimally invasive surgery (laparoscopic), and gastrointestinal surgery. He has performed more than 5000 operations for severe obesity. His research interests include the pathophysiology of obesity and related diseases, physiologic effects of laparoscopic surgery on postoperative injury and recovery, and outcomes of laparoscopic management of obesity, gastrointestinal diseases, and hernias. He has also participated in the development of new minimally invasive, endoscopic, and laparoscopic operations. New concepts in surgical training and education have been a major focus of his educational interests.

He has authored more than 200 scientific papers, editorials, textbook chapters, and video productions. He is editor of the textbook Minimally Invasive Bariatric Surgery. He has been an invited speaker for more than 100 regional, national and international lectures on the subject of obesity surgery and laparoscopic surgery. He is principal investigator of the STAMPEDE trial comparing medical and surgical treatment of diabetes and 2 NIH funded studies evaluating surgical treatment of diabetes and obesity. He is past chairman of the research and training and credentialing committees of ASMBS. He is current chairman of the Bariatric Surgery Section of the Obesity Society. He has been on the board of Governors of the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons. He is also a member of International Federation of Surgery for Obesity, the American Surgical Association, the Society of University Surgeons, the Society of Surgery of the Alimentary Tract, Central Surgical Society, and the Society of Clinical Surgery. He is a member of the Board of Governors of the Fellowship Council and past member of the American Board of Surgery Advisory Council. He is on the editorial board of Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases and Obesity Surgery as well as 3 other medical journals. He has been director of more than 100 courses and workshops on advanced laparoscopic surgery and has trained more than 40 fellows in advanced laparoscopic and bariatric surgery.

Circle of Excellence Award

Christopher Still, DO
Each year during the ASMBS Annual Meeting, the Integrated Health Chair presents the Circle of Excellence Award to an outstanding member who has made a significant contribution to the Integrated Health Sciences section of the ASMBS. This award recognizes achievement in the fields of education, research, patient care, administrative and/or public awareness, as well as dedicated and loyal services to the Integrated Health Science Section.

President’s Service Award

Tracy Martinez, BSN, RN, CBN
The President’s Service Award was founded in 2011 by Dr. Kelvin Higa, President of the ASMBS Foundation, and recognizes an individual who has made lasting contributions to the ASMBS Foundation and our mission to support the ASMBS.

2011 Sponsors:






We would also like to thank those who generously donated casino prizes for this event:
American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS), Obesity Action Coalition (OAC), Kenneth B. Jones, Jr., MD, Tracy Martinez, RN, Raul Rosenthal, MD, and Alan Wittgrove, MD

Thanks to our Media Partner:
Bariatric Times